Listed

Hiya, folks. A long blogging hiatus means a long list of hot things to highlight here. So let’s get started, shall we?

HOKE_Wanted_HC_LoRes_CRX+(1)

Wanted, by Chris Hoke
The year’s not over yet, but this is one is leading the pack of my list of favorite books read in 2015. A memoir detailing a prison chaplain’s experiences ministering to gang members, the stories in Wanted are astounding. They are suspenseful, tragic, uplifting, simultaneously gritty and touching, spanning a vast stretch of the emotional spectrum. But the book’s strengths do not end simply with compelling narratives; Hoke can write. Beautifully. Move this up to the very tip-top of your to-read list. To whet your appetite, listen to Chris Hoke tell a story on NPR’s Snap Judgement. And then go buy the book and READ IT.

Banana Bread
This comfort food is so totally underrated. For one, it’s incredibly versatile. Throw some chocolate chips in and serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and you have a tasty dessert; or, toast with peanut butter or nutella and boom! it’s a delicious breakfast; or, swipe some butter on it for a quick snack. It makes a great host/hostess gift too. The best part: it takes roughly 5 minutes to whip up. Here’s a trustworthy recipe.

Ella and Louis
This is the unofficial soundtrack of my final trimester. My baby probably knows all the words to “Stars Fell on Alabama.” And if he doesn’t now, he will soon, because this album is going to stay on rotation in our house for a good long while because it is so dang good.

Apple Trailers App
This is my new guilty pleasure. As in, after a long, stressful day at work (for the record, when you are 9 months pregnant, they are all long and stressful), let me lay in bed and watch Apple trailers on my phone while eating gushers and drinking ginger ale and I will quickly become a happy lady.

Putting Sprouts on Sandwiches
Ditch the lettuce, embrace the sprouts! I learned this trick from my beloved Cheese Shop in Williamsburg. Everyone who’s anyone knows that the Cheese Shop is the sovereign ruler over the sandwich kingdom, so ye best listen up and follow their ingenious example here.

Nextdoor.com
I’m way late to this party, but I sold our couch and loveseat within a few hours of posting and bought a breast pump for such a good deal the first day I joined. Huzzah! If I had time, I would just troll the free section on the classifieds alllllll day long.

Ireland
I was stoked to visit (our trip had been years in the making), but this country far surpassed my expectations in its natural beauty. It was absolutely stunning. You want to go to there. Trust me.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
This movie was funny, dreamy, quirky, and I so appreciated its earnestness. I think you’d like it.

