Six Autumn Films

Autumn is settling in comfortably. With the peak weekend for the leaves in North Carolina right roughly a week away, I figured it might be a good time to share some of my favorite atumnal films.

Let’s get to it, then.

Fantastic Mr. Fox
Hands down, my favorite Wes Anderson film… and also one of my favorite films of all time. Perhaps it’s all the talk of cider, or maybe the warm earth tones used in sets and and costumes — whatever it is, this movie makes me want to curl up in front of a crackling fire on a crisp autumn day with a warm blanket and a stack of apple ginger snaps.

All the Real Girls
This movie was shot in the North Carolina mountains and the cinematographers did an excellent job capturing the beauty of that part of the country in autumn. The trailer does not do it justice in the least, but this also one of my favorite movies ever. I’ve seen it several times now, and I’m always stunned with how its subtle depiction of real life situations leaves me pondering life’s biggest questions by the end of the movie. Peep Zooey in her early days here.

Half-Nelson
Autumn means back to school. This school-based drama tells the story of a middle school teacher with a drug habit and his relationship with one of his favorite students. It’s raw, and the acting is top-notch. Shareeka Epps is superb, and this is by far one of Ryan Gosling’s best (and perhaps most-underrated) performances ever.

Vertigo
This has been heralded as the greatest movie of all time by several reputable sources and organizations and I agree. Filmed in California’s Bay Area in the fall of 1957, this movie is terrifying in the best way possible. If you have not seen this movie, YOU MUST. I insist.

Good Will Hunting
Fall in New England is truly gorgeous, and this movie captures that beauty for sure. It also captures the essence of autumn: changes. Good Will Hunting is such a great story of the human ability to change.

The Lives of Others
Ok, so this one might not quite have the same obvious autumnal feel to it, but it’s such an excellent movie that I felt compelled to include it. It is RIVETING.

