Lucius

I love reading all the best songs & albums of the year lists because they usually coincide with me receiving iTunes gifts cards in my Christmas stocking. These lists, however, are only somewhat helpful purchasing guides at best. Inevitably they have gaps and demand a little chinking here and there. Thankfully, I have family members (in this case, danke to EMK) and friends with great taste who help serve as my cultural compasses in those rare moments that I have $20 in the iTunes bank.

 

Lucius

 

It’s almost February and I’m much too late to offer a comprehensive argument regarding which albums should or should not have been included on particular ‘best of 2013’ lists, but there was one album that was largely ignored that is much too good not to highlight here: Wildewoman by Lucius. The album doesn’t have a bad song on it. The beautiful harmonies and peppy tempos are addictive. It’s truly charming.

 

