The Prayer of St. Patrick

We’re leaving for the St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Savannah in 26 minutes, so that junk is about to be so hot right now.

Growing up, I never cared much for that holiday that I most often associated with excessive drinking and pinching. And then, I married an Irishman (2/3rds-ish) who dyes his beer green and makes Irish Soda Bread once a year on March 17th. Last year I read a book he had about St. Patrick, and I learned a good deal about this Saint who did some very brave things for the Christian faith and the people of Ireland.

Oh, and he wrote some beautiful prayers… which are sohotrightnow. Here’s a snippet:

 

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

More prayers here. You can also hear (and buy!) a beautiful musical rendition of the prayer written and performed by the fabulous folks at Trinity Anglican Mission in Atlanta here (track 3).

And now, I’ll type a phrase I don’t think I’ve ever typed before: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! For real, though.

