Corn Casserole

Most people have a favorite shirt.  It serves as a go-to when they don’t know what to wear.  It fits well, and is both stylish and comfortable.  Perhaps it frequently renders a compliment or two.  For my husband, it’s a versatile long-sleeved, cotton, plaid button-down fitting for most casual and slightly formal settings. Me? I don’t really have a favorite shirt.  Sure, there are some I like more than others, but not an automatic trump card like my husband has.

I do, however, have other go-tos.  Some pre-determined music albums (The Joshua Tree), “Arrested Development” episodes (the one where they hold a fake funeral for George Sr., or the one with Mrs. Featherbottom), earrings (moderately-sized gold hoops — always a good choice when in doubt), Karaoke songs (Will Smith’s “Miami”… accompanied with many friends), Ben & Jerry’s  ice cream flavors (coffee heath bar crunch) are clutch when I’m feeling indecisive.

Speaking of ice cream, it’s the season of expressing gratitude by overeating.  I have been doing a lot of that lately, largely thanks to church dinners and potlucks at work.  My go-to dish when sharing meals with friends and colleagues? Corn casserole.  To be sure, it is sopipinghotrightnow.  Why? Because it’s easy (3-step directions!), inexpensive, quick, and it appeals to the masses. In fact, I memorized the recipe a year ago after so many people hounded me on how to make it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 can creamed corn
  • 1 can regular corn
  • 1 box of cornbread mix (I use Jiffy)
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 c. sour cream (I use low-fat)

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients together.
  • Pour the mix into a greased 9 x 13 baking dish
  • Cook for approx. 45 min. at 350 degrees F.
